Audience: ClassLink Administrator
Users can be disabled in OneSync, a destination, or both. In either scenario, a disabled user typically has limited permissions and access to features. Disabling users is a useful alternative to deleting accounts.
There are several ways to disable a user in a destination:
- Disable users in a source by removing them from that source and then running an import. Doing this will disable the user in OneSync. That user will then be disabled in all applicable destinations, following an export.
- A user will be disabled in a destination if they are removed from the destination's user collections or if the user no longer satisfies a collection's conditions.
- Disable a single user or filtered set of users in a destination via Correlation in the Disable Users tab.
- Disable a user in OneSync via the user's details. Navigate to the User List, then to the individual user's details. In the status dropdown, select "Disabled" and then save the user. This user will then be disabled in all applicable destinations.
OneSync also provides additional settings for handling disabled users in the Advanced Options section of a destination:
- On disable action, disable users in destination?: Even if a user is disabled in OneSync, you can block that user from being disabled in a destination. However, once disabled in OneSync or removed or disqualified from the destination's user collection, edits will no longer be synced to that user in the destination.
- On disable action, remove a user from all groups in this destination?: Choose whether or not to remove a disabled user from groups created by groups.
Lastly, OneSync has fixed policies for handling disabled users as best practices:
- OneSync will not sync edits or mapping changes for disabled users. Edits will only be pushed once they are re-enabled. The only edits that will be processed are for groups and Events & Actions operating on the User is Disabled condition.
- If a user is disabled in OneSync and has not been previously exported to the destination, OneSync will not "add" them to a destination. The user will be added only once they are re-enabled via a source update or user collection.
Updated: Oct 2019