Product: Roster Server
Audience: ClassLink Administrator
Google Classroom integration is available for Roster Server using the Google Classroom App for Roster Server. This app rosters your classrooms by exporting the data you have permissioned in the Roster Server and importing it into Google Classroom via their API. To begin rostering your classrooms you will need to first meet with one of our specialists. Please email email@example.com to arrange this meeting.
This help document is to assist you with the ongoing support of the Google Classroom App using the Management Console in the Roster Server.
- How to View Export Sync Logs
- How to Access the Management Console
- Management Console Overview
- Managing Classrooms in the Management Console
- Managing Rostering Issues with Individual Classes
- Rostering Sync Options in the Management Console
How to View Export Sync Logs
To view the export sync logs, click on Open SFTP Logs from the applications page or click on the Sync date.
Here you will be able to see logs of all your previous exports. To view a log with more details, click on the View link.
The Job Details page will be able to provide you with information about the sync you selected.
- This shows the sync’s status along with the start and end time.
- Shows you how many Classes/Teacher or Student Enrollments/Guardians were added, removed or changed.
- The toggle allows you to change between Error or Action details which changes what you will see in #4
- Depending on the toggle set in #3, you can find details on the sync for Classes, Teachers, Students and Guardians.
How to Access the Management Console
From the Applications page, find the Google Classroom application you have just added, using the three-dots and click on the Google Classroom Settings
Management Console Overview
From inside Google Classroom Settings, click the Management tab. Here you will see all the classes that have been rostered and manually created in your Google Classroom instance with the ability to perform various actions.
- Google Classroom Class Name – This is the name of the class that the user will see in Google Classroom. You can change a classes name hovering over the class name and clicking the blue Pencil icon.
- Roster Server Class Name – If this Google Class were created by the app then the Roster Server class name would show here. Teachers can change their class name in Google which is why it might not match with #1. The reason that this class shows the icon is because the class was manually created in Google Classroom. It denotes that it is an unlinked class.
- Sourced ID / Google ID – This will show the classes sourcedId from the Roster Server and the corresponding Google ID for the class in Google. If the class is unlinked (manually created) then it will only show the Google ID.
- Class Status – There are 4 states that a class be categorized under and this dropdown will allow you to filter classes based on their status
- Active – The class is active and can or is being used
- Provisioned – The class has been created, but not yet activated. It is accessible by the primary teacher who may modify it or change it to the active or declined states.
- Declined – The class has been created but declined by the primary teacher.
- Archived – The course has been archived. It cannot be modified except to change it to a different state.
- Filters – This dropdown allows you to filter between showing all classes, manually created, created by the sync, or broken links.
- All – This will show all types of classes in your Google Classroom environment
- Linked – This will only show classes that have been created by Google Classroom app
- Unlinked – This will only show classes that were manually created in your Google Classroom environment
- Link Broken – This will show classes that were created and by various reasons the link has been broken between the Google Classroom app sync and your Google Classroom environment. One of the various reasons is that the teacher has deleted the class in Google Classroom.
- Set Bulk Status – This allows you to change the status of all classes that showing in the console to either active or archived.
- Full Enrollment Sync – The Google Classroom app’s nightly sync only adds new classes, enrollments thus allowing student data to be retained. This is cover more in the Roster Sync Options section below.
- Download Linked Classes – This will download a Comma Separated Value (CSV) file of all the classes that have been created by the Google Classroom app.
Managing Classrooms in the Management Console
Clicking on one of the classes in your list will open a slide out window, you will be able to see pertinent for the class, such as, the class rosters. There are a few management options that can be done here.
- Activate/Archive Class – From the dropdown you change an individual class to be active or archived.
- Re-send invite –If you rostered with the option of provisioning classes instead of making them active there is a chance a teacher will accidently decline the class instead of accepting it. You will need to open the declined class and click the Envelope icon to re-send the invite to the teacher.
- Change ownership – Clicking on the blue Make Owner link will allow you to change ownership of the class.
- Correct individual rostering issues – This will be cover in detail in the section below
Managing Rostering Issues with Individual Classes
If you know of an individual class that has a rostering issue then open the class up in the Management Console. If a user has any errors, you will be able to view them in the Sync Status column by hovering over ERRORS.
You might also notice two different icons in that column, one is the icon with a "+", and the other with a "-". If you see the "+" icon, this means that the user is present in your Roster Server data but not in Google's data. You can click on Add User to attempt adding that user to Google's data set.
If you see the "-" icon, this means that the user was found in Google's data set but is not present in your Roster Server data set. You can click Remove User to attempt to remove that user from Google's data set.
As an alternative, to automatically add users found in Roster Server to Google's data and/or remove users found only in Google's data for a certain class, you can click the Sync Enrollments button.
Rostering Sync Options in the Management Console
- In order to retain teacher access to student data, ClassLink will not automatically withdraw students from classes.
- ClassLink Roster Server will continue to automatically add students and teachers to their classes per SIS enrollments.
- If at any point, you want all Google Classrooms to mirror the current SIS enrollments, you may run a Full Enrollment Sync with the option “Drop Students” and “Drop Teachers” selected.
Click the blue Full Enrollment Sync link to open the sync options. Check/Uncheck the boxes that you wish to utilize and click the blue Start button to begin the sync.